Temalisia Fakahokotau has been recognised as the “Player of the Year” at the Silvermoon Tactix Awards and Dinner on Saturday 25 August 2018.

The Awards, held at Addington Raceway, Christchurch, were a celebration of the year and a way to recognise and acknowledge the contribution of players, management, sponsors and supporters.

Fakahokotau was outstanding on defence and was ranked one of the best defensive interceptors and deflectors in the 2018 ANZ Premiership.  She has also been rewarded for her hard work with selection in the Silver Ferns, along with defensive partner Jane Watson.

Tem’s infectious, warm personality makes her a favourite amongst the members which saw her also pick up the “Members Player of the Year” award.

Outstanding Centre, Kimiora Poi, was recognised as the “Rookie of the Year” having had a sensational inaugural season in the ANZ Premiership, culminating in her selection in the New Zealand A and Fast5 Ferns teams to play later this year.

Shooter Ellie Bird won the “Players Player of the Year” award, having shot 541 goals at 81% which is the highest volume of goals by a player in the 11-year history of the Tactix, beating former Malawi import Mwai Kumwenda who shot 540 goals in 2014.

Earlier in the evening, Nicola Mackle was recognised for her performances for the Hellers Mainland team, being awarded the “Player of the Year.” Nicola showed great leadership as captain of the Hellers Mainland team, leading them to a creditable third place in the BEKO National Netball League, one point behind the eventual winners Central.

Also, at the awards and acknowledged for their support of the Silvermoon Tactix, were a number of local sporting icons; Anna Simcic, Dallas Seymour, Dr Lesley Nicol, Don Hayes and Lesley Murdoch.

Awards 2018

  • Hellers Mainland Beko Player of the Year – Nicola Mackle
  • Tactix Milestone: 50 ANZ games – Erikana Pedersen
  • Silvermoon Tactix Rookie of the Year – Kimiora Poi
  • Members Player of the Year – Temalisi Fakahokotau
  • Silvermoon Tactix Players Player of the Year – Ellie Bird
  • Silvermoon Tactix Player of the Year – Temalisi Fakahokotau